easylasas.blogg.se

Setting up git on mac
Setting up git on mac









  1. #Setting up git on mac for mac os
  2. #Setting up git on mac mac os x

I initially wanted a Git server that used the git protocol (git://server…) running on port 9418, but this is definitely not easy to achieve. Git ServersĪs I’d decided that I wanted a Git repository, I then wanted to set up a proper Git server on my Mac mini Server. Git is also baked into Textmate as well which is my editor of choice. Tower is in public beta at the moment, but is quite stable and usable.

#Setting up git on mac for mac os

There are some good Git clients for Mac OS X, such as Tower. They can also export their copy and it’s quite easy for me to merge it back into my version. I can grab a folder that’s managed by git, email it to a colleague and they can merge it into their git repository quite easily. This is a more distributed version control system, not only does it not need a server but there’s no one standard type of server software to run either. Really though, it was the lack of being able to manage my files and folders easily in the Finder without worrying about not being able to check it back in again that put me off it. If you’re working with someone on a project and they don’t have access to your repository (for example if it’s on an internally accessible server that’s not published to the Internet) then it’s a lot tricker to merge changes back and forth. svn folder in each folder that holds important information and if you delete this, Subversion gets a bit annoyed. If I’m collaborating with someone else on a project and they, for example, send me a new folder of images for a project, I can’t just delete the old folder of images and put the new one in it’s place. The downside that I didn’t like is that it’s quite rigid with it’s management of files. It’s built into Dreamweaver, Coda, Textmate and quite a few other pieces of software.

setting up git on mac setting up git on mac

  • There is a large variety of GUI clients for it.
  • setting up git on mac

    #Setting up git on mac mac os x

    It’s built in to Mac OS X and Mac OS X Server.I initially looked at Subversion which has a lot going for it. I’m doing a bit of web development work, for myself and for my clients, and realised that having some form of source control will be quite useful.











    Setting up git on mac